Does Deathtouch work when attacking?

Does Deathtouch work when attacking?

If you block a creature with the Rats (it must be a legal block; so no blocking fliers) and deal damage to an attacking creature, that attacking creature will die due to deathtouch. That isn’t how attacking works. When you attack with a creature you will choose the player or planeswalker the creature attacks.

Is Deathtouch considered combat damage?

See rule 704. 702.2c Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage for the purposes of determining if a proposed combat damage assignment is valid, regardless of that creature’s toughness. See rules 510.1c–d.

Does Deathtouch override indestructible?

Does desthtouch defeat indestructible? No, deathtouch causes “lethal damage” to creatures, indestructible creatures cannot be killed by “lethal damage”.

How do I combat Deathtouch?

Spells that reduce a creature’s power to zero or turn it into a creature with zero power can be effective answers to deathtouch. Just be wary of any attempts your opponent might make to increase their power again! Creatures with deathtouch deal damage during the regular combat damage step.

Does indestructible Trump Deathtouch?

Even when they battle creatures with deathtouch, creatures with indestructible come out on top. However, indestructible does have its limitations. If a creature’s toughness is reduced to zero, it still dies, even if it has indestructible.

Can Planeswalkers get Deathtouch?

Planeswalkers that are not also creatures have no interaction with Deathtouch. They just take damage and lose loyalty counters as normal. Planeswalkers are never treated as creatures, and they are never treated as players.

Can you trample over indestructible creature?

Gracias! Indestructible creatures still get assigned damage, so the rest can still trample through.