Who are the deputy speakers in the House of Lords?

Who are the deputy speakers in the House of Lords?

The Principal Deputy Chairman is Charles Hay, 16th Earl of Kinnoull.

Who is the current Speaker of the House of Lords?

The current Lord Speaker is John McFall, Lord McFall of Alcluith….

Lord Speaker
Incumbent The Lord McFall of Alcluith since 1 May 2021
House of Lords
Style Lord Speaker (informal and within the house) The Right Honourable (within the UK and the Commonwealth)
Status Presiding officer

Who is deputy speaker in parliament?

List of Deputy Speakers

No. Name Term
14 Kariya Munda 18 May 2014
(8) M. Thambidurai 25 May 2019
Vacant Incumbent

How many members are in the House of Lords?

Current sitting members

Current composition of the House of Lords
Independents 3
Lord Speaker 1
Lords Spiritual 26
Total number of sitting members: 788

What power does the speaker of the House have?

The speaker is responsible for ensuring that the House passes legislation supported by the majority party. In pursuing this goal, the speaker may use their power to determine when each bill reaches the floor. They also chair the majority party’s steering committee in the House.

How does one become a lord?

There are, traditionally, 3 ways of becoming a Lord or Lady:

  1. Marry someone who has inherited the parcel of land and gain the title through marriage.
  2. Purchase the parcel of land from the current owner and have the title bestowed upon the new landowner.
  3. Have the title bestowed upon you through the House of Commons.