Do you pay child support with joint custody in North Carolina?
There is a common misconception that one does not have to pay child support if they have joint custody of their children. However, this is simply not true. In North Carolina (and many other states), the amount of child support is determined by three things: (1) Gross monthly income of both parents.
How many overnights is joint custody in NC?
That’s before dividing up parenting time because joint custody in North Carolina doesn’t necessarily mean 50-50 or equal custody makes child support with joint custody even more complicated. In fact, only one-third of the year needs to be spent with one parent (122 overnights) for it to be considered joint custody.
How does joint custody work in NC?
North Carolina child custody laws and courts do not recognize joint custody like most other states do. Instead, in a situation where joint custody would regularly be granted a judge will award primary custody to one co-parent and secondary custody to the other.
What is the minimum child support in North Carolina?
There is also generally a minimum support obligation for parents with low incomes. When a parent obliged to pay child support makes less than $1,108 per month (as of January 1, 2019), the guidelines require a minimum support order of $50 per month.
Is NC A Mom state?
Under North Carolina law, you have those rights as a father. In fact, unless you voluntary give them up, or a court orders otherwise, your rights as a parent are equal to those of the mother.
Does Joint Custody mean equal time?
Joint physical custody does not mean that parents have equal time with the child. Rather, both parents have substantial and frequent time. The alternative to shared physical custody is sole physical custody.
How much does a dad pay in child support?
Depending on the state where he lives, a father must pay 15 percent to 20 percent of his pretax income (20 percent to 25 percent, or more, after-tax) as child support for one child. This usually goes to 25 percent to 35 percent pretax (30 percent to 40 percent, or more, after-tax) because there is more than one child.