Where is Davis Cup played?

Where is Davis Cup played?

However, on 26 June 2020, ITF announced that 2020 Finals will take place from 22 until 28 November 2021 due to coronavirus pandemic and will be named 2021 Davis Cup Finals….

2021 Davis Cup Finals
Location Innsbruck, Austria Madrid, Spain Turin, Italy
Venue Olympiahalle Madrid Arena Pala Alpitour

Where did Davis Cup originated?

The first Davis Cup took place in 1900 and saw USA take on Great Britain, then playing under the name of the British Isles. It was held at the Longwood Cricket Club in Boston and the Americans surprised their opponents by racing into an unassailable 3-0 lead.

Does Davis Cup still exist?

In 2020, 142 nations entered Davis Cup, making it the world’s largest annual international team competition in sport. The season-ending Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals will take place across three venues in 2021 – the Madrid Arena in Madrid, the Olympia-Halle in Innsbruck and the Pala Alpitour Arena in Turin.

Which country won Davis Cup?

Spain is the reigning world champion after defeating Canada 2-0 in the Davis Cup by Rakuten Madrid final on 24 November 2019.

Is Davis Cup singles or doubles?

Davis Cup Finals Nations are split into six groups of three and for the first four days, compete in round-robin ties. Each tie features two singles and one doubles rubber which are all played over best-of-three sets.

Is Davis Cup every year?

It is run by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and is contested annually between teams from competing countries in a knock-out format. The Davis Cup allowed only amateurs and national registered professional players (from 1968) to compete until 1973, five years after the start of the Open Era.

Who won most Davis Cups?

The United States are the most successful nation in the history of the competition, with 32 victories. Australia are second with 28 (individually or in a combined Australasia team) and Great Britain and France are tied for third with 10.