What is Osteofascial compartment?

What is Osteofascial compartment?

Anatomically, the osteofascial compartment is surrounded by tibia, fibula, intermuscular septa, and deep fascia, so it is relatively encapsulated. When the leg had a trauma, the pressure, produced by tissue swelling, edema, exudation, and bleeding, increases dramatically and can result in ischemic and necrosis.

What is Osteofascial?

osteofascial (not comparable) (anatomy) Relating to bone and fascia.

What is the difference between fascia and intermuscular septa?

Fascia is a band of connective tissue located beneath the skin, which encloses and separates muscles. The deep fascia is denser than its superficial counterpart and forms intermuscular septa, which are involved in the formation of muscular compartments.

What causes compartment syndrome?

Acute compartment syndrome can be caused by: a broken bone or a crush injury – this is the most common cause. a plaster cast or tight bandage being applied to a limb before it has stopped swelling. burns, which can cause the skin to become scarred and tight.

What is crural fascia?

The crural fascia or deep fascia of the lower leg is a thick connective tissue fascia that investing the muscles of the lower leg and dividing them into the four compartments of the lower leg 1,2: anterior compartment.

What is intermuscular septum of leg?

The anterior intermuscular septum of leg or anterior crural intermuscular septum is a band of fascia which separates the lateral from the anterior compartment of leg.

What is deltoid fascia?

The deltoid fascia is a fibrous membrane that surrounds the deltoid muscle. It covers the muscle on the outside and unifies with the fascia of the chest (pectoral fascia) at its frontal most edge. Superiorly it is attached to the clavicle, as well as the nearby acromion and the crest of the scapular spine.

Does deep fascia have fat?

A fascia is a connective tissue that surrounds muscles, groups of muscles, blood vessels, and nerves, binding those structures together. There are three types of fascia: superficial fascia, deep fascia, and subserous (or visceral) fascia. However, superficial fascia contains fat, while deep fascia does not contain fat.