What order should I read the Old Kingdom?

What order should I read the Old Kingdom?

  1. Sabriel (1995)
  2. Lirael (2001)
  3. Abhorsen (2003)
  4. Clariel (2014)
  5. Goldenhand (2016)
  6. Terciel and Elinor (2021)

How many pages are in Clariel?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061561573
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 57,201
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.30(h) x 1.00(d)
Lexile: 990L (what’s this?)

Will there be more old Kingdom Books?

The new novel in the YA Old Kingdom series, Terciel and Elinor, will be published in 2021, with a major sales, publicity and marketing campaign, alongside a rebrand for Nix and the Old Kingdom series.

Is Sabriel the first a book?

Sabriel is a fantasy novel by Garth Nix, first published in 1995. It is the first in his Old Kingdom series, followed by Lirael, Abhorsen, Clariel and Goldenhand….Sabriel.

First edition
Author Garth Nix
Genre Fantasy novel
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date 1995

Should I read Clariel before Sabriel?

You can read Clariel before Sabriel, the first book in the trilogy, and not be too confused. Despite the macabre themes, violence consists of only a few rather bloody skirmishes — some characters lose heads and get run through with swords and talons of some scary magical creatures.

What happens to Kerrigor?

During this time he became a Free Magic Sorcerer and possibly killed himself. In Death however he hid his body in Ancelstierre and used Free Magic to make himself appear human. Kerrigor was stopped however by the then Abhorsen who appeared, with Mogget in his released form, and sent into death.

What is the disreputable dog?

The Disreputable Dog is the physical form of Kibeth. She is discovered by Lirael in the Clayr’s Library in the form of a soapstone statue of a friendly-looking mongrel. Lirael accidently releases her when trying to create a dog sending. The Disreputable Dog is made partly from Free magic and partly from Charter magic.

Is Sabriel dead?

They find the body, and Sabriel finally defeats Kerrigor by binding him with Ranna and Mogget’s collar. Sabriel dies, but the previous Abhorsens prevent her from crossing into Final Death as she cannot die without someone else to take her place as Abhorsen.

What happened to the disreputable dog?

All that remained free of Orannis’s vengeful power was directed at the Disreputable Dog. The Dog then aged rapidly, with a white muzzle and loose skin. She moves into Death after an emotional farewell to Lirael, leaving Lirael alone with a Soapstone Stauette.

Does Sabriel and Touchstone end up?

The house is besieged by dead. Sabriel escapes by calling a flood and flying away with Mogget on a kind of magical airplane, a paperwing. Nineteen years after the events of Sabriel, she has married Touchstone, and after he was restored as the King of the Old Kingdom, she became his Queen of the Old Kingdom.

What age is sabriel for?

Ages 12-up.

What is the order of Garth Nix books?


  • Sabriel (1995)
  • Lirael (2001)
  • Abhorsen (2003)
  • Clariel (2014)
  • Goldenhand (2016)
  • Terciel and Elinor (upcoming, November 2021)