What is inferior surface?

What is inferior surface?

The diaphragmatic surface (inferior surface), directed downward and slightly backward, is formed by the ventricles, and rests upon the central tendon and a small part of the left muscular portion of the diaphragm.

What are surfaces of cerebral hemispheres?

The medial surface of each cerebral hemisphere is flat, the inferior surface is irregular and even slightly concave anteriorly, while the lateral surface is convex. They are all lined by cerebral cortex. The surface of the cerebral hemisphere is divided by grooves, called sulci, into ridges called gyri.

What is located on inferior surface of hemisphere?

The inferior surface of the frontal lobe is formed by the gyrus rectus and the orbital gyri. On the medial surface of the hemisphere, the callosal sulcus separates the corpus callosum from the cingulate gyrus. The cingulate sulcus separates the cingulate gyrus from the superior frontal gyrus.

What is the surface of the cerebrum known as?

cerebral cortex
The surface of the cerebrum, with its many convoluted gyri and sulci, is extremely important to the function of the brain. It is in this region, known as the cerebral cortex, where most of the processing of the cerebrum takes place.

What does inferior of heart mean?

The inferior or diaphragmatic surface of the heart forms a roughly straight plane or slight concavity that projects to the left and slightly inferiorly to the apex of the heart. It lies superior to the central tendon of the diaphragm and at its lateral projection, the muscular part of the left hemidiaphragm.

What are the 2 cerebral hemispheres?

The cerebrum is divided into the left and right hemispheres by a deep longitudinal fissure; the two hemispheres remain in contact and communication with one another by the corpus callosum. Each hemisphere further subdivides into a frontal, parietal, occipital, and temporal lobe.

Is cerebral hemisphere is a part of for brain?

One half of the cerebrum, the part of the brain that controls muscle functions and also controls speech, thought, emotions, reading, writing, and learning.

What are the four cerebral lobes?

Traditionally, each of the hemispheres has been divided into four lobes: frontal, parietal, temporal and occipital.

Why is cerebrum called new brain?

The Cerebrum. The cerebrum — which is just Latin for “brain” — is the newest (evolutionarily) and largest part of the brain as a whole. It is here that things like perception, imagination, thought, judgment, and decision occur.

What is the other name of cerebrum?

The cerebrum, or telencephalon, is the large upper part of the brain. It is divided into two hemispheres .