What is the name of 9 Union territories?

What is the name of 9 Union territories?

The 9 union territories are Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Puducherry, Ladakh and Jammu, and Kashmir.

How many states in India have 2021 and union territories?

The federal union of India is broken into 29 states and seven territories. All of the states and unions of the nation have three capitals.

Who is the 29th state in India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 from ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

What are the 8 union territories of India?

Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Sikkim, Goa, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram are some UTs that became full states since the 1960s. India currently has 8 Union Territories (UTs) – Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Lakshadweep, and Puducherry.

How is a state different from a union territory?

A State is a constituent division and has its own elected government that has the powers to frame laws while a Union Territory is a small administrative unit and is ruled by the Union Government except for Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir and Puducherry.

What are the States and territories of the United States?

A map showing the location of each territory controlled by the United States. The United States is marked in blue, inhabited territories are marked in green, and uninhabited territories are marked in orange. ^ The largest city is the city in a state with the largest population in the city proper (as opposed to metropolitan area ).

Who is the leader of the union territories?

The union territories are ruled by a lieutenant governor appointed by the central government. The President has the right to regulate the affairs of all Union Territories except National Capital Territory of Delhi, Puducherry, and now Jammu & Kashmir (which have their own legislatures).