What cities are included in central Ontario?

What cities are included in central Ontario?

The five CMAs, Toronto, Hamilton, Oshawa, Kitchener-Waterloo and St. Catharines-Niagara, and four large CAs – Peterborough, Guelph, Barrie, and Brantford – constitute the major urbanized nodes (urbanized cores) within and through which the entire Central Ontario Zone is organized as a spatial system.

What is considered the central region in Ontario?

The Central region of Ontario consists of the economic regions of Muskoka-Kawarthas, Kitchener-Waterloo-Barrie and Hamilton-Niagara Peninsula as defined by Statistics Canada, which includes the Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs) of St. Catharines-Niagara, Hamilton and Kitchener-Waterloo.

Is Barrie considered central Ontario?

Geography. Barrie is located in the central portion of Southern Ontario, approximately 80 km (50 mi) north of Toronto, 303 km (188 mi) south southeast of Sudbury and 412 km (256 mi) west southwest of Ottawa, within the Greater Golden Horseshoe subregion.

What cities are in Central Canada?


Region Province/Territory Capital City
Central Canada Quebec Ontario Québec City Toronto
Prairie Provinces Manitoba Saskatchewan Alberta Winnipeg Regina Edmonton
West Coast British Columbia Victoria
North Nunavut Northwest Territories Yukon Territory Iqaluit Yellowknife Whitehorse

Is Ontario considered central Canada?

Central Canada (sometimes the Central provinces) is a region consisting of Canada’s two largest and most populous provinces: Ontario and Quebec.

Is Niagara in central Ontario?

The Regional Municipality of Niagara, also colloquially known as the Niagara Region or Region of Niagara, is a regional municipality comprising twelve municipalities of Southern Ontario, Canada. The regional seat is in Thorold. It is the southern end of the Golden Horseshoe, the largest megalopolis in Canada.

Is GTA considered central Ontario?

GTA and Central Ontario. The five planning regions in the GTA and Central Ontario area includes all of the Greater Toronto Area, stretches north to Parry Sound/Muskoka, and roughly spans the area from Meaford to Minden.

Is Barrie Ontario a good place to live?

Safe Community. Compared to other growing cities in the region, Barrie has one of the lowest crime rates reported. If you are looking for cities that offer safe communities, then Barrie should be high on your list. Moving to Barrie is not only a safe investment but also ensures safety for family and self.

What is the most central city in Canada?

Geography. The longitudinal centre of Canada passes just east of Winnipeg, Manitoba; the geographic centre of Canada is located near Baker Lake, Nunavut.

Is Niagara part of Toronto?

Niagara is a neighbourhood in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, located south of Queen Street West; it is usually bordered by Strachan Avenue to the west, Bathurst Street to the east, and the railway corridor to the south, and so named because Niagara Street runs through the centre of it. …

What is central Ontario?

Central Ontario is a secondary region of Southern Ontario in the Canadian province of Ontario that lies between Georgian Bay and the eastern end of Lake Ontario.

Are there any cities in the province of Ontario?

” City” forms part of the name of many municipalities in the Canadian province of Ontario, generally the largest in the province or in their region but there is no current threshold in law. Cities have the municipal status of either a single-tier or lower-tier municipality.

Which is the most populated province in Canada?

Additionally, with a population of 13,448,494 in 2016, Ontario is the country’s most populated province. Canada’s national capital, Ottawa, is located in Ontario. Ontario contains 52 cities that had a combined population of 9,705,157 in 2016.

Where does most of the population of Ontario live?

Ontario is located in Central Canada, and is home to Ottawa, the nation’s capital, and Toronto, the provincial capital, in which many people live. It borders the U.S. states of Minnesota, Michigan, Ohio, New York and Pennsylvania, as well as Manitoba, Hudson Bay, James Bay and Quebec.