When did England last win the World Cup rugby?

When did England last win the World Cup rugby?

22 November 2003
Ten years ago, on 22 November 2003, England won the rugby union World Cup, thanks to Jonny Wilkinson’s drop-goal just 26 seconds from the end. BBC Sport looks back at that breathtaking moment, when Wilkinson’s kick sealed a 20-17 extra-time victory over Australia at the Telstra Stadium in Sydney.

Who was in the England rugby team in 2003?

Match details

FB 15 Josh Lewsey
RW 14 Jason Robinson
OC 12 Mike Tindall
IC 13 Will Greenwood
LW 11 Ben Cohen

How many rugby World Cups have England won?

England are very often regarded as the best team in the northern hemisphere. The English have won the Six Nations (formerly the Five Nations) a record 38 times. They are also the only nation from the northern hemisphere to have won the Rugby World Cup, in 2003. They finished runners-up in 1991 and 2007.

Who was the captain of the England rugby team in 2003?

captain Martin Johnson
Speaking to the Rugby Union Weekly podcast, 2003 captain Martin Johnson along with fellow squad members Matt Dawson, Paul Grayson, Jason Leonard and Mike Tindall all pass on their experiences from winning the World Cup in Australia.

Which country has won the most Rugby World Cups?

Rugby World Cup

Current season or competition: 2023 Rugby World Cup
The Webb Ellis Cup is awarded to the winner of the men’s Rugby World Cup
Regions Worldwide (World Rugby)
Holders South Africa (2019)
Most titles New Zealand (3 titles) South Africa (3 titles)

Who won the football World Cup in 2003?

It was held in the United States from 20 September to 12 October 2003 at six venues in six cities across the country. The tournament was won by Germany, who became the first country to win both men’s and women’s World Cup.

Who won the Rugby World Cup in 2003?

Ben Cohen
2003 Rugby World Cup/Winners

Who is the best rugby team of all time?

Highest rankings

Team Best
Rank Year(s)
New Zealand 1 2003, 2004–07, 2008, 2009, 2009–19, 2019
South Africa 1 2007–08, 2009, 2019, 2019–21
England 1 2003, 2003–04, 2019

What rugby team has the most World Cups?

Who is the number 1 rugby team?

Current World Rugby Rankings

Position Team Points
1 South Africa 91.13
2 New Zealand 90.97
3 Wallabies 86.99
4 England 85.44