Who is the highest gallantry award in India?

Who is the highest gallantry award in India?

Param Vir Chakra
Param Vir Chakra — Highest-military award in India. Awarded for national bravery in the presence of the enemy. Maha Vir Chakra – Maha Vir Chakra is the second-highest military decoration in India and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.

How many gallantry awards are given by the Indian government?

six gallantry awards
India has a total of six gallantry awards awarded to the bravest citizens of the country. Three gallantry awards were instituted on January 26, 1950 — the Param Vir Chakra, the Maha Vir Chakra and the Vir Chakra. They were said to be in effect from August 15, 1947, when India got independence.

Who is eligible for Vayu Sena Medal?

Officers and airmen of the Regular Air Force and officers and airmen of Auxiliary Air Force, Air Defence Reserve and Regular Reserve when called upon under Section 25 of the Reserve and Auxiliary Air Force Act, 1952. Army officers serving as pilots in Aviation Corp. will also be eligible for the award of this Medal.

What are the five gallantry awards?

These gallantry awards are announced twice in a year – first on the occasion of the Republic Day and then on the occasion of the Independence Day. Order of precedence of these awards is the Param Vir Chakra, the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra.

What are the 4 gallantry awards?

Honours & Awards

  • Param Vir Chakra.
  • Ashok Chakra.
  • Maha Vir Chakra.
  • Kirti Chakra.
  • Vir Chakra.
  • Shaurya Chakra.
  • Sena Medal.
  • Nao Sena Medal.

Who gives Sena medal?

It has since been revised to Rs. 2000….

Sena Medal
Awarded for “Awarded for such individual acts of exceptional devotion to duty or courage as have special significance for the Army.”
Country Republic of India
Presented by Republic of India
Eligibility All ranks of the army

Who got Vayu Sena Medal in 2020?

75th Independence Day: President confers Vayu Sena Medal on Squadron Leader Deepak Mohanan.

Who got Ashok Chakra 2021?

Babu Ram, ASI with Jammu & Kashmir Police, has been posthumously awarded India’s highest peacetime gallantry award Ashok Chakra.

Who got Vir Chakra in 2020?

List of Vir Chakra recipients

Rank Recipient
Captain Vijyant Thapar Operation Vijay, Kargil War
Havildar Chuni Lal Operation Vijay, Kargil War
Wg Cdr Abhinandan Varthaman 2019 India-Pakistan standoff
Sepoy Gurtej Singh 2020–2021 China–India skirmishes