How long is Texas state trooper training?

How long is Texas state trooper training?

23 weeks
The LEE training program for Texas trooper recruits is 23 weeks in length and takes place in Austin. The curriculum is physically and mentally intense and includes courses on the use of force, the operation of tactical vehicles, report writing and communication skills, and first aid for first responders.

What are the requirements for a Texas state trooper?

Be a U.S. citizen. Must be at least 20 years old (there is no maximum age limit for Texas State Troopers) Have completed at least 60 college hours from a regional accredited college or university (credit hours may be substituted for 24 months of military or police experience) Have a high school diploma or GED.

How much do Texas state troopers earn?

How much does a State Trooper make in Texas? While ZipRecruiter is seeing salaries as high as $85,946 and as low as $17,721, the majority of State Trooper salaries currently range between $38,542 (25th percentile) to $54,048 (75th percentile) with top earners (90th percentile) making $77,085 annually in Texas.

Can state troopers have tattoos in Texas?

Applicants must not have tattoos, brands, or body art that may be considered offensive or obscene. Tattoos must be covered by a long sleeve uniform shirt. Applicants must not have tattoos on their head, scalp, face, neck, hands, or fingers.

Is Texas state trooper a good job?

Very good job. This department builds confidence and is a very serious job. We place our lives on the line so others can live. We keep the people, property and roads in the State of Texas safe. Confidence and keeping the people in the State safe is the most rewarding.

Can cops have hand tattoos in Texas?

As a paramilitary organization built on tradition, officers were not allowed to display visible tattoos while in uniform. Times change and our agency believes change can be good. No neck tattoos or hand tattoos are permitted unless approved by the Chief of Police or his designee.

Do Texas state troopers get overtime?

“Texas law enforcement personnel put their lives on the line every day. As DPS officers move to a standard 50-hour work week, the passage of SB 297 will ensure that our state’s public safety officers are given a reasonable expectation of paid overtime and are protected when they must take sick or other necessary leave.

What kind of gun do Texas state troopers carry?

In 2013, Texas DPS officials announced that they would be switching to the Smith & Wesson M&P, 9-millimeter handgun as the standard-issue sidearm for troopers, due to higher round capacity over the SIG Sauer. Troopers already issued .357 sidearms would be allowed to continue using them.

What jobs does not allow tattoos?

Careers and No Visible Tattoos

  • Healthcare Professionals. Many hospitals and medical offices require some piercings and tattoos be removed or covered.
  • Police Officers and Law Enforcement.
  • Law Firms.
  • Administrative Assistants and Receptionists.
  • Financial Institutions and Banks.
  • Teachers.
  • Hotels / Resorts.
  • Government.

What are the requirements to become a Texas State Trooper?

To become a Texas State Trooper, prospective recruits are required to have completed at least 60 credit hours at a regionally accredited college or have at least 24 months of active duty military or peace officer service. A combination of college and military service will also be accepted.

How much do state trooper make in Texas?

As of Feb 18, 2021, the average annual pay for a State Trooper in Texas is $49,251 an year. Just in case you need a simple salary calculator, that works out to be approximately $23.68 an hour. This is the equivalent of $947/week or $4,104/month.

What is the job of a Texas State Trooper?

Texas State Trooper Job Description. A Texas State Trooper ensures the safety of citizens and visitors within state boundaries. Texas State Troopers are primarily tasked with enforcing state motor vehicle and criminal laws on the state’s thousands of miles of roadways.