How are USTA points calculated?

How are USTA points calculated?

Ranking Points are earned by winning singles and doubles matches at various types of USTA national tournaments, sectional tournaments, and designated ITF tournaments. Points Per Round: These are the Ranking Points assigned to winning singles and doubles matches at the National Ranking Tournaments.

How many tournaments do you need to play to obtain a SCTA ranking?

SPECIFIC REGULATIONS AND REQUIREMENTS FOR 2010 RANKING: Open Singles: A player must play a minimum of: 1) The SCTA Sectionals and TWO other SCTA sanctioned tournaments; or 2) A total of FIVE SCTA sanctioned tournaments. Local tournament play is required. No player will be ranked who played only USTA Pro Circuit events.

What are USTA bonus points?

Bonus Points are earned for wins in main draw, consolation draw, and qualifying draw matches. At Level 1 through Level 7 tournaments, Bonus Points are “attached” to the tournament at which they are earned.

How does the new USTA ranking system work?

USTA Rankings/Standings: The ranking system uses a Points Per Round Combined Ranking System (PPR). For Junior Rankings, ranking points earned in singles and doubles matches are combined (with greater weight placed on ranking points earned in singles) and players are ordered based on this total.

What are USTA shadow rankings?

In order to inform players about the transition and provide a set of data to be reviewed by the USTA before official implementation in 2021, the USTA will be calculating “Shadow Rankings.” Shadow Rankings will be an unofficial National Standings List (NSL) based on 2020 results using the new 2021 ranking tables.

What is a Level 5 USTA tournament?

LEVEL 5 TOURNAMENTS (OPEN) This type of tournament is for players who have experience in regular junior tournament competition but lacking National junior tournament experience. They may choose to play in a Level 5 tournament in an older age division provided they are not ranked in the top 50 of that division.

What is Level 7 in USTA?

LEVEL 7 TOURNAMENTS (NOVICE) This type of tournament is for players who have not competed in junior tournaments or who have very little tournament experience. Level 7 tournaments do not count toward SCTA ranking. These rules do not apply to the 8 and under division.

What is a level 6 in USTA?

LEVEL 6 TOURNAMENTS (SATELLITE) This type of tournament is for players who are getting started in regular junior tournament competition. USTA So Cal Level 6 junior tournaments are counted towards junior open rankings. These rules do not apply to the 10s & 8s divisions.

What are the USTA levels?

The National Tennis Rating Program (NTRP) is a classification system developed in 1978 that identifies and describes the general characteristics of thirteen levels of tennis-playing ability from beginner to pro-level. Recreational leagues offer NTRP player levels of: 2.5, 3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0 & 5.5.

What is a 4.0 tennis player?

4.0. Intermediate-Advanced Player: Has dependable strokes, including directional control and depth on both forehand and backhand sides plus the ability to use lobs, overheads, approach shots and volleys with some success. May be starting to master the use of power and spins (though tends to over-hit difficult shots).

How do I rate myself on USTA?

To self-rate, go to, on the navigation bar select USTA League. Below the heading “Find NTRP Rating Info” click the “self-rate” button. A membership or a team number to self-rate but a USTA Account number is needed.