What is GSA in government?

What is GSA in government?

The General Services Administration (GSA) is an independent agency of the United States government established in 1949 to help manage and support the basic functioning of federal agencies.

What is a GSA certification?

GSA Approval is a status used to describe organizations that have been approved to sell to the United States Government through the U.S. General Services Administration (GSA).


The GSA as a Group Purchasing Organization (GPO) Think of the GSA as the federal government’s GPO for indirect goods and services. The GSA, among other duties, establishes contracts (“schedules”) for most of the agencies to buy from.

Can civilians order from GSA?

® is the online shopping and ordering system that provides access to thousands of contractors and millions of supplies (products) and services. Anyone may browse on GSA Advantage! ® to view and compare the variety of products and services offered. Federal government employees can make purchases on GSA Advantage!

What is GSA price?

GSA pricing refers to a company’s agreement with the GSA to offer those goods and services at agreed-upon prices to any qualified government agency or department. From the business’ perspective, winning a GSA Schedule Contract can mean increased purchases and profits over time.

What is the function of GSA?

The GSA is a sprawling bureaucracy established in 1949 that now has 12,000 employees and a $21 billion budget. It works largely behind the scenes to support other federal entities, with responsibility for managing federal office space, procuring supplies and improving the use of technology across the government.

How do I get GSA certified?

How do you become GSA approved? To qualify to sell to GSA you will need to have a proven track record in your industry. Ordinarily, the government wants to see at least a two year history of at least $25,000 per year.

Who can order from GSA Advantage?

Who can order from GSA Advantage

  • Federal agencies.
  • Executive departments.
  • 100% government owned corporations.
  • Independent establishments in the executive branch of the government.
  • Other federal agencies, not included above.
  • Other federal agencies that are not in the executive branch of the government.

Who Gets GSA pricing?

To view the official GSA Order detailing entities eligible to purchase through the GSA Schedules Program, click here.

  • Establishments in the Legislative or Judicial Branch.
  • Executive Agencies.
  • Executive Departments.
  • Wholly Owned Government Corporations.
  • Independent Establishments in the Executive Branch.
  • The Senate.