What does Sattvika mean?

What does Sattvika mean?

Sattva is the quality of goodness, positivity, truth, serenity, balance, peacefulness, and virtuousness that is drawn towards Dharma and Jnana (knowledge).

What is Satvika bhava?

Sattvika bhavas are of six kinds- stambha, sveda, romancha, vaivarnya, svarabhedas and ashru. Vyabhichari Bhava: This is also known as sanchari bhava. The term means improvisation or explanation. These are transitory emotional feelings that differ from person to person. They will not have a constant nature.

What is Rajasika?

Rajasic, according to yogic philosophy, is an adjective that refers to the quality of one of the three gunas, or qualities of nature. All of the three basic gunas — tamas, rajas and sattva — are present in every individual. From Sanskrit, rajas translates as “passion” in English.

What are the eight Sthayi Bhavas?

These sthayi bhavas (basic mental states), which are chiefly eight in number— rati (erotic love), shoka (grief), krodha (wrath), utsaha (energy), bhaya (fear), hasya (humour), jugupsa (disgust)—are heightened to rasadasha (a relishable state) by the poet so that we have one rasa (aesthetic sentiment) corresponding to …

What are the types of Bhava?

According to Swami Sivananda, there are three kinds of bhava – sattvic, rajasic and tamasic. Which predominates in a person depends on their own nature, but sattvic bhava is Divine bhava or pure bhava (Suddha bhava).

Are potatoes tamasic?

Some consider tomatoes, peppers, and aubergines as sattvic, but most consider the Allium family (garlic, onion, leeks, shallots), as well as fungus (yeasts, molds, and mushrooms) as not sattvic. Sweet Potatoes and rice are considered highly sattvic.

How do you say avani in Sanskrit?

अवनि (avani) – avani – KST (Online Sanskrit Dictionary)

How many type of Sthayibhavas are there?

There are three types of Bhava, namely, Sthayi (eight types), Vyabhichari (thirty three), and Satvika (eight), totaling forty-nine. Satvika bhava is the physical manifestation of intense emotion.

What are the eight Rasas?

The Natyasastra lists eight Sthayibhavas with eight corresponding rasas:

  • Rati (Love)
  • Hasya (Mirth)
  • Soka (शोक) (Sorrow)
  • Krodha (Anger)
  • Utsaha (Energy)
  • Bhaya (Terror)
  • Jugupsa (Disgust)
  • Vismaya (Astonishment)

What does the term sattvikabhava mean in Hinduism?

Sattvikabhava means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Which is the best description of the Sattvika image?

The sāttvika image is represented in a yogic stance. The expression of the deity is very calm, tranquil, bright, ethereal, pure, wise, and luminous. The mudrās in the hands are held in such a way that they dispel fear and offer benediction to the worshipper.

Which is part of Sattvika is called abhinaya?

Sattvika (सत्त्विक) refers to “the temperament” and forms a part of abhinaya (techniques of representation), according to the Nāṭyaśāstra chapter 8. Abhinaya is used in communicating the meaning of the drama ( nāṭya) and calling forth the sentiment ( rasa).

How many kinds of sattvikabhava are there in Natyasastra?

Sāttvikabhāva (सात्त्विकभाव) refers to “involuntary state”, according to the Nāṭyaśāstra chapter 6. There are eight kinds of sāttvikabhāva described: vaisvarya (change of voice).